At a glance
| What matters | Square Online | SumUp Order & Pay | tastie. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | Square Online Free plan £0; Plus £20 and Premium £64 a month, billed annually. VAT not stated Source ↗ | £39 a month for POS Plus, which Order & Pay is “available with”. Excluding VAT Source ↗ | £0: no tastie. monthly fee |
| Commission on orders | Not stated on its website | Not stated on its website | 0% restaurant commission |
| Fee the customer pays | Not stated on its website | Not stated on its website | £1 per order, whatever the order size |
| Card processing | 1.4% + 25p per online UK card payment (1.4% + 15p on Premium) Source ↗ | 2.50% transaction fee, shown on its Order & Pay page Source ↗ | Paid by the restaurant, at a rate confirmed in writing before launch |
| Setup or activation fee | “No monthly fees or startup costs” on the Free plan Source ↗ | “No setup fees” on its payments pricing page Source ↗ | No tastie. setup fee |
| Contract | Square says you can “upgrade, downgrade or cancel your plan at any time” Source ↗ | “No long-term commitments” on its POS plans Source ↗ | You review the agreement before your restaurant goes live |
| Hardware | Not included in the Square for Restaurants subscription; bought separately Source ↗ | “No extra hardware to add to your POS” Source ↗ | Free SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal and printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTD |
Where each is strong
Square Online
- Has a free plan with no monthly fee or startup costs: you pay the card processing fee when you make a sale. Source ↗
- Delivery can be by your own staff or by a Stuart courier, and QR table ordering is included. Source ↗
- Items and stock sync with any Square POS. Source ↗
SumUp Order & Pay
Which should you choose?
Choose Square Online if you already take card payments with Square, or want a free plan where you pay card fees only when you make a sale.
Choose SumUp Order & Pay if you already use SumUp card readers or POS and want QR and order-ahead ordering added.
Choose tastie. if you want your own ordering website with no monthly fee and 0% commission, your menu set up for you, and you offer collection or deliver with your own drivers. Your customers pay just £1 per order, whatever the order size.
Whichever you choose, compare quotes on the same footing: the same number of orders, the same order value, and every fee, including card processing.
Sources
- Square online ordering ↗: ordering, delivery options and POS sync
- Square Online plans ↗: plan prices and online card rates
- Square Online ↗: no startup costs
- Square pricing ↗: cancelling plans and add-on prices
- Square takeaway EPOS ↗: hardware
- SumUp Order & Pay ↗: ordering, the transaction fee and hardware
- SumUp pricing ↗: the POS Plus price, VAT and setup fees
- SumUp fast food POS ↗: commitments
- SumUp Online Store ↗: the online store price
Checked by hand on 31 October 2026. tastie.’s terms are on the offer page.
Square and SumUp are trademarks of their owners. tastie. is not affiliated with or endorsed by them. Facts come from each company’s own website on the date shown; prices and terms change, so ask for a current quote. Spotted a mistake? Tell us and we’ll correct it.