At a glance
| What matters | tastie. | SumUp Order & Pay |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | £0: no tastie. monthly fee | £39 a month for POS Plus, which Order & Pay is “available with”. Excluding VAT Source ↗ |
| Commission on orders | 0% restaurant commission | Not stated on its website |
| Fee the customer pays | £1 per order, whatever the order size | Not stated on its website |
| Card processing | Paid by the restaurant, at a rate confirmed in writing before launch | 2.50% transaction fee, shown on its Order & Pay page Source ↗ |
| Setup or activation fee | No tastie. setup fee | “No setup fees” on its payments pricing page Source ↗ |
| Contract | You review the agreement before your restaurant goes live | “No long-term commitments” on its POS plans Source ↗ |
| Hardware | Free SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal and printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTD | “No extra hardware to add to your POS” Source ↗ |
Where SumUp Order & Pay is strong
How tastie. is different
SumUp Order & Pay is an EPOS (till) system that can also take orders online. tastie. does one job: your own ordering website, with your menu set up for you. It is not a till, so you can keep the one you have.
tastie. charges the restaurant no monthly fee and 0% commission; your customers pay just £1 per order, whatever the order size.
What each one includes
tastie.
- Your own ordering website on your own web address, with a free .co.uk or .com if you need one and it is available.
- Your menu set up for you from photos, a PDF or a link. You check it before it goes live.
- A free SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal that prints orders at the counter, plus free printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTD.
- Collection, or delivery by your own drivers. tastie. does not provide couriers.
What 100 orders a month cost
Take 100 orders a month at £20 each: £2,000 of food sales. Leaving card processing aside, because every option has it:
- tastie.: £0 monthly fee and £0 commission. Customers pay just £1 per order.
- SumUp Order & Pay: £39 a month, excluding VAT. Its 2.50% transaction fee is extra.
This is arithmetic on published prices, not a quote. Use the commission calculator with your own numbers.
Which should you choose?
Choose SumUp Order & Pay if you already use SumUp card readers or POS and want QR and order-ahead ordering added.
Choose tastie. if you want your own ordering website with no monthly fee and 0% commission, your menu set up for you, and you offer collection or deliver with your own drivers.
Whichever you choose, compare quotes on the same footing: the same number of orders, the same order value, and every fee, including card processing.
Sources
- SumUp Order & Pay ↗: ordering, the transaction fee and hardware
- SumUp pricing ↗: the POS Plus price, VAT and setup fees
- SumUp fast food POS ↗: commitments
- SumUp Online Store ↗: the online store price
Checked by hand on 31 October 2026. tastie.’s terms are on the offer page.
SumUp is a trademark of its owner. tastie. is not affiliated with or endorsed by SumUp Order & Pay. Facts about SumUp Order & Pay come from its own website on the date shown; prices and terms change, so ask SumUp Order & Pay for a current quote. Spotted a mistake? Tell us and we’ll correct it.