Compare · Delivery apps and marketplaces

How Uber Eats and tastie. compare on fees and features

Uber Eats is a delivery app where customers order from many restaurants, with delivery by Uber couriers or by the restaurant, or collection. tastie. gives takeaways their own ordering website with 0% commission and no monthly fee; customers pay just £1 per order, whatever the order size. Here is how they compare, using each company’s own published information.

Monthly fee
tastie.£0Uber EatsNot stated
Commission on orders
tastie.0%Uber Eats13% or 30% + VAT
Fee the customer pays
tastie.£1 per orderUber EatsVaries

Checked by hand on 31 October 2026 · Every fact linked to its source

In short: Uber Eats is a delivery app where customers order from many restaurants, with delivery by Uber couriers or by the restaurant, or collection. tastie. charges the restaurant 0% commission and no monthly fee, and customers pay just £1 per order, whatever the order size. Choose Uber Eats if you want to reach new customers in the Uber Eats app, or you need Uber couriers to deliver for you.

At a glance

Uber Eats and tastie., from each company’s own website. Checked 31 October 2026
What matterstastie.Uber Eats
Monthly fee£0: no tastie. monthly feeNot stated on its website
Commission on orders0% restaurant commission30% when Uber delivers (33% for Uber One members); 13% for self-delivery; 13% for pick-up. Excluding VAT
Source ↗
Fee the customer pays£1 per order, whatever the order sizeCustomers can pay a delivery fee and a fee of “typically 10% of the basket”, per Uber’s help centre
Source ↗
Card processingPaid by the restaurant, at a rate confirmed in writing before launchIncluded: “Payment processing” is listed in all plans
Source ↗
Setup or activation feeNo tastie. setup fee£650 one-off activation fee, excluding VAT, including a tablet, printer, menu setup and photography
Source ↗
ContractYou review the agreement before your restaurant goes liveOne-year initial term, then renews automatically each year
Source ↗
HardwareFree SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal and printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTDTablet and printer included in the activation fee
Source ↗

Where Uber Eats is strong

  • Publishes its fees by delivery type, and its activation fee, on one page. Source ↗
  • Webshop gives a commission-free ordering page that is free with a Marketplace account. Source ↗
  • Payment processing and 24/7 support are included in all plans. Source ↗

How tastie. is different

Uber Eats is a marketplace: customers browse many restaurants in its app, and the restaurant pays commission on each order. It can bring you people who have never heard of you. tastie. is for the customers who already know you: your own ordering website, with 0% commission and no monthly fee. Your customers pay just £1 per order, whatever the order size.

You can run both: stay on the app for new customers and point your regulars to your own website.

What each one includes

tastie.

  • Your own ordering website on your own web address, with a free .co.uk or .com if you need one and it is available.
  • Your menu set up for you from photos, a PDF or a link. You check it before it goes live.
  • A free SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal that prints orders at the counter, plus free printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTD.
  • Collection, or delivery by your own drivers. tastie. does not provide couriers.

Uber Eats

  • A listing in the Uber Eats app Source ↗
  • Delivery by Uber couriers, by your own staff, or collection Source ↗
  • Webshop: a commission-free ordering page, free with a Marketplace account Source ↗

What 100 orders a month cost

Take 100 orders a month at £20 each: £2,000 of food sales. Leaving card processing aside, because every option has it:

  • tastie.: £0 monthly fee and £0 commission. Customers pay just £1 per order.
  • Uber Eats: 13% of £2,000 (£260) a month, excluding VAT. That is the self-delivery or pick-up rate. The one-off £650 activation fee is extra, and Uber delivery costs 30%.

This is arithmetic on published prices, not a quote. Use the commission calculator with your own numbers.

Which should you choose?

Choose Uber Eats if you want to reach new customers in the Uber Eats app, or you need Uber couriers to deliver for you.

Choose tastie. if you want your own ordering website with no monthly fee and 0% commission, your menu set up for you, and you offer collection or deliver with your own drivers.

Whichever you choose, compare quotes on the same footing: the same number of orders, the same order value, and every fee, including card processing.

Sources

Checked by hand on 31 October 2026. tastie.’s terms are on the offer page.

Uber Eats is a trademark of its owner. tastie. is not affiliated with or endorsed by Uber Eats. Facts about Uber Eats come from its own website on the date shown; prices and terms change, so ask Uber Eats for a current quote. Spotted a mistake? Tell us and we’ll correct it.