At a glance
| What matters | tastie. | ChefOnline |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | £0: no tastie. monthly fee | From £3 a day, excluding VAT; its FAQ gives £90 a month at £3 a day Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗ |
| Commission on orders | 0% restaurant commission | Not stated on its website |
| Fee the customer pays | £1 per order, whatever the order size | Its terms say it “may charge the consumer a fee of £0.40 per order”, with the restaurant paying the VAT on it Source ↗ |
| Card processing | Paid by the restaurant, at a rate confirmed in writing before launch | ChefOnline takes customer payments and pays the restaurant; rates not published Source ↗ |
| Setup or activation fee | No tastie. setup fee | Not stated on its website |
| Contract | You review the agreement before your restaurant goes live | Not stated on its website |
| Hardware | Free SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal and printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTD | EPoS packages are sold separately Source ↗ |
Where ChefOnline is strong
How tastie. is different
Like ChefOnline, tastie. gives a takeaway its own ordering website. The main difference is how you pay. tastie. charges the restaurant no monthly fee and 0% commission; your customers pay just £1 per order, whatever the order size. Card processing fees are paid by the restaurant, at a rate confirmed in writing before launch.
What each one includes
tastie.
- Your own ordering website on your own web address, with a free .co.uk or .com if you need one and it is available.
- Your menu set up for you from photos, a PDF or a link. You check it before it goes live.
- A free SUNMI V2 or V3 terminal that prints orders at the counter, plus free printer paper. The terminal remains the property of ACORN RESERVE LTD.
- Collection, or delivery by your own drivers. tastie. does not provide couriers.
What 100 orders a month cost
Take 100 orders a month at £20 each: £2,000 of food sales. Leaving card processing aside, because every option has it:
- tastie.: £0 monthly fee and £0 commission. Customers pay just £1 per order.
- ChefOnline: £90 a month, excluding VAT. That is its “from” price of £3 a day.
This is arithmetic on published prices, not a quote. Use the commission calculator with your own numbers.
Which should you choose?
Choose ChefOnline if you want your own ordering website and apps bundled with a listing on a national takeaway marketplace.
Choose tastie. if you want your own ordering website with no monthly fee and 0% commission, your menu set up for you, and you offer collection or deliver with your own drivers.
Whichever you choose, compare quotes on the same footing: the same number of orders, the same order value, and every fee, including card processing.
Sources
- ChefOnline online ordering system ↗: the package price and what it includes
- ChefOnline FAQ ↗: the monthly equivalent
- ChefOnline terms ↗: the customer fee
- ChefOnline partner page ↗: payments
- ChefOnline EPoS ↗: EPoS packages
Checked by hand on 31 October 2026. tastie.’s terms are on the offer page.
ChefOnline is a trademark of its owner. tastie. is not affiliated with or endorsed by ChefOnline. Facts about ChefOnline come from its own website on the date shown; prices and terms change, so ask ChefOnline for a current quote. Spotted a mistake? Tell us and we’ll correct it.